Dual Graves (The Downside of Cremation)

If I haven’t told you this before, given the choice, I’m being cremated.   I like the idea of being permanently disposed of.  I love the crazy-good cost savings of cremation, over needing a plot and a casket and all that.  I sleep well with the thought that one day I’ll dissolve into Lake Sutherland and into the Pacific ocean.  All in all, cremation fits who I am and what I do.

But every now and again, something makes me think for a bit about the other options.  Such as this story about ancient Greek skeletons found in an embrace

Remains-of-an-embracing-couple

Which also reminded me of this picture from this story from Caleb Wilde’s highly amusing Confessions of a Funeral Director blog

double coffin

All this thinking and reading reminds me that my plans are just that–plans.  Thankfully, because I practice what I preach, they’re only written safely down and communicated, but not paid for or committed to in any irrevocable fashion.

Perhaps, as I grow older with Mr. P  (20 years together, and I’m still only 29–so maybe I should restate that?!)…as we move toward finishing our lives together, I may feel the need to create something like the above, the chance for us to continue our pairing on the other side, maybe the need to leave a more permanent memorial to our time together, beyond the inherited rings and china our kids and grandkids will get.   Will just mingling our ashes be enough?  Will I need it in stone somewhere?

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

